Getting Started (again)

“Getting started, keeping going, getting started again- in art and in life, it seems to me this is the essential rhythm…” -Seamus Haney

I decided to take a few months of creative hiatus after having finished my degree in December. I needed a bit of a break to kick back and be human again, and also to set up a new work space since I no longer have access to my beloved bench at NSCAD! So now that I am all unpacked and (somewhat) organized, I dove right in to some experimentation. I decided to start off slowly with some exercises just to get back into the groove of things.

I have always been drawn to patterns, puzzles, and geometric forms. Admittedly, I was one of those nerdy kids who got way too absorbed in playing with the wooden geometric pattern blocks.

…And even now, years later, I think these are great! A perfect starting point for some creative play. Unfortunately, I no longer own a set, so I made my own version with some leftover paint chips.

I cut the hexagons into smaller segments to make a variety of different shapes.

This was a bit time-consuming, but led to some fun patterns and arrangements. This cut-and-paste method of “sketching” is one of my favorable alternatives to drawing.

While unpacking all my tools and materials into my new workspace, I came face-to-face with my unwieldy collection of old picture frames.  I accumulated a bunch of used frames for my grad exhibition last fall. Most of them are painted white now, but I do still have some gold ones. I knew this question would come eventually, but “what do I do with them now?” Take them back to Value Village..? Surely I can come up with something…

..and thanks to my love of geometric pattern blocks, out came my jeweler’s saw, and one of the frames took on a new fate.


I got so excited about this one!

Lots of fun experimentation… not sure where this will lead..

Stay tuned!


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

