Side-stepping Into New Territory

I have been without access to the studio for the past two months due to renovations, and have had to improvise a bit in attempt to work at home. I decided to take this as a challenge to explore and incorporate different processes that could allow me to sidestep the limitations of not having a torch. It has proven to be a great opportunity to switch things up, and move my work in a new direction. I am currently wrapped up in the beginnings of a new body of work that will be exhibited at the York Quay Gallery at Harbourfront Centre in January.

Recently, I have shifted focus from jewellery to small-scale sculpture, and have really been enjoying the freedom my explorations. My painting practice has taken on an important role in these new works, and the process as a whole has become more intuitive. My painting and metalsmithing practices seem to have formed a new unification that I am quite excited about.

Here are a couple sneak-peek shots of some works in progress. Stay tuned! : )

photo

photo3

photo(1)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Side-stepping Into New Territory

  1. CFitz

    Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

